Award-winning independent CD label

Frederick Delius: The Complete Part-Songs



The Complete Part-Songs. Elysian Singers, Matthew Greenall. Shows Delius’s complete mastery of the craft – one only has to listen to On Craig Ddu (1907) for instance, to hear how smoothly and movingly each vocal line moves individually and in ensemble.The performances of the Elysian Singers are radiant.

Elysian Singers of London
Matthew Greenall
Stephen Douse – Tenor
Andrew Ball – Piano

“This is the only all-Delius collection of its kind on the market and it allows us to pleasurably follow the development of Delius’s style” – The Gramophone
“Matthew Grenall and the Elysians should be congratulated . . this CD should be in the collection of every Delian” – British Music Society Journal

On This Recording

  1. 6 Partsongs: No. 2. Durch den Wald
  2. 6 Partsongs: No. 1. Oh! Sonnenschein
  3. 6 Partsongs: No. 3. Ave Maria
  4. 6 Partsongs: No. 4. Sonnenscheinlied
  5. 6 Partsongs: No. 5. Fruhlingsanbruch
  6. 6 Partsongs: No. 6. Her ute skal gildet staa
  7. Irmelin: Irmelin, Act I: Away, far away to the woods
  8. Irmelin: Irmelin: Hear a sad and ancient lay (arr. E. Lubin for choir)
  9. A Village Romeo and Juliet: A Village Romeo and Juliet, Scene 4: Wedding Music: Lord, before thy mighty will (arr. E. Fenby for choir and organ)
  10. Appalachia: Variations on an Old Slave Song: Appalachia: Variations on an Old Slave Song: Finale: Oh, honey, I am going down the river (arr. B. Suchoff for tenor, choir and piano)
  11. On Craig Ddu
  12. Wanderer’s Song
  13. Midsummer Song
  14. 2 Songs for Children: No. 1. Little Birdie
  15. 2 Songs for Children: No. 2. The Streamlet’s Slumber Song
  16. To be sung of a Summer Night on the Water: No. 1. (without words)
  17. To be sung of a Summer Night on the Water: No. 2. —
  18. Hassan: Act I: (without words)
  19. Hassan: Act II: Today the fools who cahth a cold in summer
  20. The splendour falls on castle walls