Celebrating 25 Years of Excellence

Constant Lambert – The Last Recordings


Catalogue No: SOMMCD 023
Release Date: 2002-03-01
Number of Discs: 1
EAN/UPC: 748871302327
Artists: ,
Composers: , , , ,
Liner Notes

An historic re-issue. Constant Lambert(1905-1951) had a charismatic personality and a brilliant mind which could shape and inspire exceptional orchestral performances. This CD features quite extraordinary recordings of the composers Sir William Walton, Franz von Suppé, Emile Waldteufel and Emmanuel Chabrier.

Philharmonia Orchestra
Constant Lambert – Conductor

“A charming and delightful disc”. Edward Greenfield, Gramophone.

On This Recording

  1. Estudiantina: Estudiantina, Op. 191
  2. Pomone: Pomone, Op. 155
  3. Les Patineurs: Les Patineurs, Op. 183, "The Skater's Waltz"
  4. Sur la plage: Sur la plage, Op. 234
  5. Die Kartenschlägerin, oder Pique Dame (Queen of Spades): Die Kartenschlagerin, oder Pique Dame (Queen of Spades): Overture
  6. : Ein Morgen, Mittag und Abend in Wien (Morning, Noon and Night in Vienna): Overture
  7. Facade Suite No. 2: Facade Suite No. 2: I. Fanfare
  8. Facade Suite No. 1: I. Polka
  9. Facade Suite No. 1: III. Swiss Jodelling Song
  10. Facade Suite No. 1: II. Valse
  11. Facade Suite No. 1: IV. Tango - Pasodoble
  12. Facade Suite No. 2: III. Country Dance
  13. Facade Suite No. 2: V. Popular Song
  14. Facade Suite No. 2: IV. Noche Espagnola
  15. Facade Suite No. 2: VI. Old Sir Faulk
  16. Facade Suite No. 2: II. Scotch Rhapsody
  17. Facade Suite No. 1: Facade Suite No. 1: V. Tarantella, Sevillana
  18. 5 Morceaux: 5 Morceaux: No. 2. Ballabile (arr. C. Lambert)