Celebrating 25 Years of Excellence

George Dyson: The Open Window

£9.00 - £17.00
£7.20 - £13.60

Catalogue No: SOMMCD 0622-2
Release Date: 10/16/2020
Number of Discs: 2
Artists: ,
Liner Notes

SOMM Recordings announces the first complete survey on disc of George Dyson’s music for solo piano including five premiere recordings performed by Simon Callaghan in a specially priced two-CD set.

Callaghan is joined by Clíodna Shanahan for the first recording of the two-piano version of Concerto Leggiero, a mature work originally composed for piano and string orchestra. Almost classical in its sense of economy, the two-piano arrangement boasts a remarkable lyricism.

Born in Halifax in 1833, Dyson studied with Stanford and Parry before becoming one of the most prominent British composers and distinguished teachers of his generation. Best known for his choral work, his piano music spans his career. Heard in its entirety, it provides valuable new insights into his development as a composer. Other first recordings include the seven-year-old Dyson’s first work for piano, Untitled Piano Piece, the exam board commission for young pianists, Twelve Easy Pieces, and The Open Window and Six Lyrics, character pieces designed to help develop technique and musical imagination in young pianists.

Among other works included are the Debussy-accented Primrose Mount, the dazzling set of fugues Bach’s Birthday and so-called War Epigrams, inspired by Dyson’s experiences on the Western Front before being invalided home.

Dyson biographer Paul Spicer provides authoritative booklet notes.

Simon Callaghan’s recent SOMM releases include British Violin Sonatas with Clare Howick (SOMMCD 0610; described by MusicWeb International as “expertly performed with unalloyed musicality and commitment”) and a survey of Roger Sacheverell Coke’s piano music (SOMMCD 0147), of which MusicWeb International said: “The commanding and virtuosic musicianship of Simon Callaghan allows this quirkily individual music to register with maximum effect – a fascinating and compelling disc”.

Making her debut on SOMM, Clíodna Shanahan has a busy performing and recording schedule for TV, radio, symphony and chamber concerts. A pianist and organist, she also records film soundtracks, most notably Howard Shore’s The Hobbit.

On This Recording

    Disc One
    Concerto Leggiero for two pianos*a

  1. I Allegro
  2. II Andante
  3. III Vivace
  4. The Open Window*

  5. Field and Wood
  6. Swallows
  7. Gentle Rain
  8. Fair
  9. Passers-by
  10. The Patrol
  11. The Green
  12. Evensong
  13. Primrose Mount

  14. Primrose Mount
  15. Bach’s Birthday

  16. Comodo
  17. Cantabile
  18. Allegretto
  19. Vivace possibile
  20. Untitled Piano Piece*

  21. Untitled Piano Piece
  22. Six Lyrics*

  23. March
  24. Melody
  25. Folk-Dance
  26. Waltz
  27. Intermezzo
  28. Mazurka
  29. Disc Two
    My Birthday

  30. Delicately
  31. Brightly
  32. Quietly
  33. Twelve Easy Pieces

  34. Mazurka
  35. Waltz
  36. Scotch Snap
  37. Dance
  38. Melody
  39. Lullaby
  40. Air
  41. Song
  42. Legato Study
  43. Scale Study –
  44. Five finger Study
  45. Study in Canon
  46. Prelude and Ballet

  47. Prelude
  48. Ballet
  49. Epigrams

  50. A Capriccio
  51. All’improviso
  52. Sostenuto
  53. Ritmico
  54. Cantabile
  55. Sonore
  56. Di ballo
  57. Grazioso
  58. Con fuoco
  59. Alla capella
  60. Three Wartime Epigrams

  61. An Autograph
  62. Con moto tranquillo
  63. Sostenuto ed espressivo
  64. Four Twilight Preludes

  65. Tranquillo
  66. A capriccio
  67. Grazioso
  68. Sostenuto

a Clíodna Shanahan