Celebrating 25 Years of Excellence



Catalogue No: SOMMCD 0631
Release Date: 2021-04-16
Number of Discs: 1
EAN/UPC: 748871063129
Artists: , , ,
Liner Notes

Songs by George Gershwin arranged for Clarinet, Saxophone and Piano by Iain Farrrington

SOMM RECORDINGS is delighted to announce the debut recording of composer-pianist Iain Farrington’s Art Deco Trio, featuring 15 new instrumental arrangements blending classical and jazz influences of songs by George Gershwin.

In 2012, Farrington played piano in the London Olympic Games’ opening ceremony in a comic performance of Chariots of Fire with Rowan Atkinson (as Mr. Bean) and the LSO conducted by Sir Simon Rattle. His Beethoveniana – a thrilling distillation of Beethoven’s nine symphonies into a seven-minute piece for 323 BBC orchestra musicians, the BBC Singers and two dancers – was a highlight of the locked-down 2020 BBC Proms.

Taking its name from the defining style of the Gershwin era, the Art Deco Trio – Peter Sparks (clarinet), Kyle Horch (alto and soprano saxophones) and Farrington (piano) – “mixes elegance and clean lines with the exuberance and bold colours” of its distinctive signature.

The disc takes its title from Farrington’s “fantasia” on five Gershwin standards stamped through with infectious rhythmic energy and the most memorable of melodies. First heard in shorter form at the 2018 BBC Proms, Gershwinicity is a dazzling celebration of one the 20th century’s most popular songwriters.

The melody-filled material ranges from early hits such as I’ll Build a Stairway to Paradise and The Man I Love to the late, lasting classics They All Laughed and Our Love is Here to Stay.

Gershwin’s stage masterpiece Porgy and Bess is represented by arrangements of Summertime and It Ain’t Necessarily So, alongside Broadway favourites (The Man I Love, I Got Rhythm) and rarities (Fidgety Feet, I’ve Got a Crush on You).

Iain Farrington’s arrangements of Holst’s Ode to Death – “the pick of the piece” (BBC Radio 3’s Record Review) – and Fauré’s Requiem were heard on In Remembrance (SOMMCD 0187). Lauded by the British Music Society as “a very fine performance and recording in every respect”, MusicWeb International declared it “an album that will have enduring value into the future”.

On This Recording

  1. I got rhythm
  2. They all laughed
  3. The man I love
  4. Nice work if you can get it
  5. Summertime
  6. They can't take that away from me
  7. Fidgety feet
  8. Love is here to stay
  9. I'll build a stairway to Paradise
  10. Do it again
  11. It ain't necessarily so
  12. Someone to watch over me
  13. I've got a crush on you
  14. But not for me
  15. Gershwinicity - Let's call the whole thing off - A foggy day in London town - Fascinating rhythm - Emgraceable you - Lady be good
All First Recordings