Award-winning independent CD label

La vie d’une rose: Songs by Massenet, Volume 2


This item will be released on 2 August, 2019.
Catalogue No: SOMMCD 0600
Release Date: 08/02/2019
Number of Discs: 1
Artists: , ,
Liner Notes

SOMM Recordings is honoured to release the last recording made by the much-loved and admired soprano Sally Silver before her death at the age of 51 in 2018.

Silver’s third release on SOMMLa vie d’une rose returns to the evocatively perfumed songs of Jules Massenet following 2015’s well-received Les amoureuses sont des folles. Accompanied again by the renowned conductor- pianist Richard Bonynge – who also provides a moving, specially written tribute – she is joined by the mezzo-soprano Christine Tocci on six duets.

The 25 (of Massenet’s 285) mélodies heard here offer a marked contrast to the familiar image of the composer’s famed operatic credentials. As Massenet expert Hervé Oléon says in his authoritative booklet notes: “Massenet, the song composer, was, in his own words, rather more at home in salons – this ‘bourgeois artist at the fireside’ as he liked to describe himself”.

Embracing a multitude of emotions, sacred and profane, these songs employ wide-ranging forms and a broad musical palette to always captivating ends while also revealing a composer perpetually developing, keen to experiment and looking towards the future.

La vie d’une rose is produced by the late soprano’s husband Jeremy Silver (Director of the Opera School at the University of Cape Town) who also provides the translation of Hervé Oléon’s booklet notes.

Of Sally Silver’s previous releases with SOMM, her first volume of Massenet songs, Les amoureuses sont des folles (SOMMCD 0151), received the coveted Orphée d’or from L’Académie du disque lyrique and was a Recording of the Month for MusicWeb International, who described it as “A pure delight… [Silver and Bonynge] bring inspired, sympathetic, thoughtfully nuanced readings to these songs”.

Songs by William Vincent Wallace (SOMMCD 0131) was hailed by Classical Ear as “A disc full of delightful discoveries distinguished by persuasive performances of idiomatic charm”.

On This Recording

  1. Sérénade d’automne
  2. Passionnément
  3. L’heure solitaire*
  4. Nuit d’Espagne
  5. Souhait
  6. La mélodie des baisers**
  7. Rien ne passe!
  8. La vie d’une rose
    (Quatre mélodies Op.12, No.3)
  9. Le poète et le fantôme*
  10. Puisqu’elle a pris ma vie
    (Poème d’amour, No.4)
  11. Dieu créa le désert
  12. La dernière lettre de Werther à Charlotte 4:08 (Expressions Lyriques, No.5)**
  13. Le sais-tu?
  14. La dernière chanson
  15. Aux étoiles*
  16. Chanson pour elle
  17. Être aimé
  18. Salut, printemps!*
  19. Le coffret d’ébène
  20. Vous aimerez demain 3:13 (Poème d’avril, No.5)
  21. Joie!*
  22. L’âme des fleurs
  23. Les fleurs*
  24. Le petit Jésus
  25. Amoureux appel

*duet **solo