Celebrating 25 Years of Excellence

Lutoslawski at the Guildhall, Vol. 1


Catalogue No: SOMMCD 219
Release Date: 1999-04-01
Number of Discs: 1
EAN/UPC: 748871321922
Artists: , , ,
Liner Notes

Prelude for GSMD, Cello Concerto, Symphony No.2, Novelette, Fanfare for Louisville. Guildhall Symphony Orchestra, Louise Hopkins cello. Conductors Lutoslawski & Michniewski.

In tribute to the memory of Lutoslawski, in 1997 the Guildhall School of Music & Drama and the BBC Symphony Orchestra jointly organised an extended festival. These are selected live recordings taken during the festival, as well as performances conducted by Lutoslawski himself. Powerful and dramatic music.

On This Recording

  1. Prelude for GSMD
  2. Cello Concerto
  3. Symphony No. 2: I. Hesitant
  4. Symphony No. 2: II. Direct
  5. Novelette: Announcement
  6. Novelette: First Event
  7. Novelette: Second Event
  8. Novelette: Third Event
  9. Novelette: Conclusion
  10. Fanfare for Louisville