Celebrating 25 Years of Excellence

Prokofiev, Kabalevsky, & Myakovsky: Cello Sonatas


Catalogue No: SOMMCD 029
Release Date: 2003-02-01
Number of Discs: 1
EAN/UPC: 748871302921
Artists: ,
Composers: , ,
Liner Notes

All three works in this collection of sonatas were inspired by the great Russian cellist Mstislav Rostropovich. There is a remarkable affinity and musical rapport between the cellist and pianist – they bring to this recording fresh ideas and the brilliance of their talent.

Jamie Walton – Cello
Daniel Grimwood – Piano

“Walton and Grimwood strike to the very heart of the music’s character. With a fusion of musicality, virtuosity and sensibility, these are outstanding performances”.
Geoffrey Norris, Daily Telegraph

On This Recording

  1. Cello Sonata: I. Andante grave
  2. Cello Sonata: II. Moderato
  3. Cello Sonata: III. Allegro ma non troppo
  4. Cello Sonata in B-Flat Major, Op. 71: I. Andante molto sostenuto
  5. Cello Sonata in B-Flat Major, Op. 71: II. Allegretto con moto
  6. Cello Sonata in B-Flat Major, Op. 71: III. Allegro molto
  7. Cello Sonata No. 2: I. Allegro moderato
  8. Cello Sonata No. 2: II. Andante cantabile
  9. Cello Sonata No. 2: III. Allegro con spirito
  10. Cello Sonata: I. Allegro non troppo
  11. Cello Sonata: II. Allegro
  12. Cello Sonata: III. Largo
  13. Cello Sonata: IV. Allegro