Celebrating 25 Years of Excellence

Bruckner From the Archives, Volume One



SOMM Recordings announces Bruckner from the Archives, a major new, six-double-CD-volume series celebrating the 200th anniversary of Anton Bruckner’s birth in 1824.

Conceived and designed by SOMM Executive Producer and acclaimed Audio Restoration Engineer Lani Spahr with support from the Bruckner Society of America, the series features rare archival recordings of Bruckner’s 11 symphonies and selected other important works, many appearing for the first time in any form. Recordings have been sourced from the more than 11,000 Bruckner performances in the Archive of John F. Berky, Executive Secretary of the Bruckner Society of America, who also acts as Consultant for this important series.

Across the series, authoritative notes by Professor Benjamin M. Korstvedt, Jeppson Professor of Music at Clark University, Worcester, Massachusetts, President of the Bruckner Society of America and member of the Editorial Board of the New Anton Bruckner Complete Edition, trace Bruckner’s life and compositional development from the Symphony in F minor (1862) to the unfinished Ninth Symphony (1894).

Volume 1 includes two Symphonies: in F minor (Bruckner Orchestra, Linz conducted by Kurt Wöss) and No.1 in C minor, ‘Linz’ (Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, Eugen Jochum); Bruckner’s only String Quartet (Koeckert Quartet); Psalm 112 (Vienna Akademie Kammerchor, Vienna Symphony Orchestra, Henry Swoboda); the Overture in G minor (WDR Symphony Orchestra, Cologne, Dean Dixon); the March in D minor, and Three Pieces for Orchestra (Vienna Symphony Orchestra, Hans Weisbach).

Future volumes include never-before released performances conducted by noted Brucknerians Eugen and Georg Ludwig Jochum, Eduard van Beinum, Volkmar Andreae, Christoph von Dohnányi, Herbert von Karajan, and Joseph Keilberth.

Lani Spahr’s previous SOMM releases include the lauded four-volume sets Vaughan Williams Live (ARIADNE 5016, 5018, 5019, 5020) and Elgar Remastered (SOMMCD 261-4), and a Gramophone Editor’s Choice for “superb audio restorations [bringing] performances fully to life” for Elgar from America, Volume 3 (Ariadne 5015-2)

On This Recording

Disc 1
Symphony in F Minor, WAB 99 (41:41)*a
  1. I. Allegro molto vivace (14:12)
  2. II. Andante molto (12:49)
  3. III. Scherzo and Trio (4:51)
  4. IV. Allegro
  1. March in D Minor, WAB 96 (1862) (4:47)**b
Three Pieces for Orchestra, WAB 97 (7:55)**b
  1. No. 1: Moderato in E-Flat Major (1:53)
  2. No. 2: Allegro non troppo in E Minor (2:28)
  3. No. 3: Andante con moto in F Major (3:33)
  1. Psalm 112, WAB 35 (1863) (13:36)c

Disc 2
  1. Overture in G Minor, WAB 98 (Revised 1863) (11:02)*d
Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, WAB 101 (Linz version, ed. Nowak) (47:27)*e
  1. I. Allegro (12:28)
  2. II. Adagio (12:37)
  3. III. Scherzo. Lebhaft (8:54)
  4. IV. Finale. Bewegt und feurig (13:31)
String Quartet, WAB 111 (1862) (20:34)*f
  1. I. Allegro moderato (7:03)
  2. II. Andante (6:16)
  3. III. Scherzo. Presto (3:06)
  4. IV. Rondo. Schnell (4:08)
*First Release
**First Release on CD

aBruckner Orchestra, Linz; Kurt Wöss, conductor
bVienna Symphony Orchestra; Han Weisbach, conductor
cVienna Akademie Kammerchor; Vienna Symphony Orchestra; Henry Swoboda, conductor
dWDR Symphony Orchestra, Köln; Dean Dixon, conductor
eBavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra; Eugen Jochum, conductor
fKoeckert Quartet