Celebrating 25 Years of Excellence

Organ Music by The Wesleys & Their Contemporaries


Catalogue No: SOMMCD 039
Release Date: 2004-05-01
Number of Discs: 1
EAN/UPC: 748871303928
Composers: , , , , ,
Liner Notes

Following soon after Jennifer Bate’s critically acclaimed first recording on SOMM of Samuel Wesley Organ Music (SOMMCD 036 – see earlier in catalogue), here is a highly intriguing and enjoyable companion. Both CDs were recorded from First Editions or Manuscripts. Recorded on the organs of St. James’s Church, Bermondsey and The Brangwyn Hall, Swansea.

Jennifer Bate – Organ

Jennifer Bate has, as ever, been careful to match all the works on this disc to instruments which make ideal vehicles for her chosen composers, all strong representatives of early 19th century English organ music. She was critically acclaimed for her first SOMM recording (SOMMCD 036) ‘Samuel Wesley Organ Music’.

On This Recording

  1. Organ Concerto: I. Maestoso
  2. Organ Concerto: II. Allegro moderato
  3. Organ Concerto: III. Andante pastorale
  4. Organ Concerto: IV. Allegro
  5. Voluntary: I. Slow
  6. Voluntary: II. Allegro
  7. Voluntary: III. Slow cantabile
  8. Voluntary: IV. Andante
  9. 12 Voluntaries: No. 8. Andante maestoso
  10. 12 Voluntaries: No. 8. Spiritoso
  11. A Scrap
  12. Fugue for Dr. Mendelssohn: Fugue for Dr. Mendelssohn in B Minor
  13. 12 Voluntaries (1812): I. Largo
  14. 12 Voluntaries (1812): II. Allegro
  15. Dirge for Lord Nelson: Dirge for Lord Nelson in D Minor
  16. 3 Pieces for a Chamber Organ, Book 1: No. 3. Choral Song
  17. 3 Pieces for a Chamber Organ, Book 1: No. 3. Fugue
  18. Prelude and Fugue: Prelude
  19. Prelude and Fugue: Fugue
  20. 3 Pieces for a Chamber Organ, Book 2: No. 2. Larghetto in F-Sharp Minor
  21. 3 Pieces for a Chamber Organ, Book 2: No. 1. Andante in G Major