Celebrating 25 Years of Excellence

Prokofiev Milestones, Volume One


Catalogue No: SOMMCD 0671
Release Date: 2024-01-19
Number of Discs: 1
EAN/UPC: 748871067127
Artists: , ,
Liner Notes

SOMM RECORDINGS announces the first volume of Prokofiev Milestones, featuring three characterful sonatas and a sparkling arrangement of music from Romeo and Juliet performed by violinist Lana Trotovšek and flutist Boris Bizjak , accompanied by Maria Canyigueral on piano.

Prokofiev Milestones revealingly turns the focus away from the prolific composer’s famed orchestral works and celebrated ballets to his rich and varied chamber music.

First performed in 1943, the Sonata for Flute and Piano (Op. 94) is, as Robert Matthew-Walker comments in his notes, “music not of war, but of peace”; a pastoral escape laced with wit and mischief vouchsafed within a pristine neo-classical frame.

It is heard again, transformed, in Prokofiev’s own transcription for Violin and Piano (Op.94a). Composed soon after, it lays claim to being “one of the finest 20th-century works in the genre and a genuine masterpiece”.

The Sonata for Two Violins (Op. 56) is heard in a new arrangement by Boris Bizjak that eloquently makes much of its sentimentality, drama and vitality.

A characterful suite drawn from Romeo and Juliet, and arranged for violin and piano by Lidia Baich and Matthias Fletzberger, revels in Shakespeare’s great romance and Prokofiev’s ardent response to it.

Maria Canyigueral is making her SOMM Recordings debut. Lana Trotovšek and Boris Bizjak’s previous SOMM
release was Hoffmeister’s Magic Flute(SOMMCD 0620) with the Piatti Quartet, of which Gramophone approvingly noted: “the challenge falls firmly on the performers… Bizjak, Trotovšek and their accomplices… meet the music’s technical demands admirably”.

On This Recording

Sonata for Flute and Piano in D Major, Op. 94 (24:15)bc
  1. I. Moderato (8:06)
  2. II. Scherzo: Presto (5:09)
  3. III. Andante (3:49)
  4. IV. Allegro con brio (7:10)
Sonata for Two Violins in C Major, Op. 56 (arr. Boris Bizjak for flute and violin) (14:40)ab
  1. I. Andante cantabile (2:22)
  2. II. Allegro (3:15)
  3. III. Commodo (quasi allegro) (3:32)
  4. IV. Allegro con brio (5:29)
Suite from Romeo and Juliet (arr. Lidia Baich and Matthias Fletzberger for violin and piano) (15:45)ac
  1. I. Introduction (1:29)
  2. II. Juliet (1:31)
  3. III. Dance of the Knights (3:03)
  4. IV. Balcony Scene (4:47)
  5. V. Dance of the Couples (1:27)
  6. VI. Mercutio – Fight – Tybalt’s Death (3:25)
Sonata No. 2 for Violin and Piano in D Major, Op. 94a (24:35)*ac
  1. I. Moderato (7:52)
  2. II. Scherzo: Presto (5:13)
  3. III. Andante (4:14)
  4. IV. Allegro con brio (7:14)
*First Recordings

aLana Trotovšek, violin
bBoris Bizjak, flute
cMaria Canyigueral, piano