Celebrating 25 Years of Excellence

Stimme der Liebe (The Voice of Love)


Catalogue No: SOMMCD 0670
Release Date: 2023-06-16
Number of Discs: 1
EAN/UPC: 748871067028
Artists: , ,
Liner Notes

SOMM RECORDINGS is delighted to pay tribute to the British tenor Ian Partridge on his 85th birthday on June 12 with Stimme der Liebe (The Voice of Love), a collection of iconic songs by Schubert, on which he is joined by his pianist-sister Jennifer Partridge and pianist Ernest Lush.

The great German lyric baritone Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau hailed Partridge’s Schubert interpretations as “a pure joy”, an accolade that these 20 performances of Lieder, taken from BBC Radio broadcasts between 1968 and 1972 – and available now for the first time on disc – readily illustrate.

They reveal Partridge’s unique, insightful affinity with the complexity and nuance of Schubert’s response to matters of the heart, a quality Fischer- Dieskau described – in a facsimile letter to the singer included in the booklet – as his “respect and love for the music”.

Among familiar works such as ‘Im Frühling’, ‘Das Fischermädchen’ and ‘An den Mond’, are relative rarities such as ‘Vor meiner Wiege’, which Partridge describes in his booklet interview with Jon Tolansky exploring his “life-long love affair” with Schubert’s Lieder, as one of the composer’s “most inspired creations”.

With a repertoire ranging from Monteverdi and Elizabethan lute songs to Schoenberg and Britten, Ian Partridge is one of the most acclaimed lyric tenors of his generation. He is especially known for his success with songs and Lieder and regarded as one of the great modern Schubert interpreters. His hugely successful partnership with his pianist-sister, Jennifer, saw the duo giving more than 430 recitals and making numerous recordings over their 52-year-long partnership.

The booklet also includes informative notes, texts and translations by Richard Stokes, Professor of Lieder at London’s Royal Academy of Music, and author of The Book of Lieder (Faber, 2005).

Restoration of the original recordings has been undertaken by audio expert and long-time SOMM collaborator, Lani Spahr.

On This Recording

  1. Im Frühling
  2. Erster Verlust
  3. Dass sie hier gewesen
  4. Der Einsame
  5. Nachtviolen
  6. An mein Herz
  7. Die gefangenen Sänger
  8. An den Mond, D.193
  9. Der blinde Knabe
  10. Über Wildemann
  11. Vor meiner Wiege
  12. Bei dir allein!
  13. Die Liebe hat gelogen
  14. Nähe des Geliebten
  15. Alinde
  16. Ihr Bild
  17. Das Fischermädchen
  18. Nacht und Träume
  19. Stimme der Liebe
  20. Sei mir gegrüsst

All First Releases on disc