Celebrating 25 Years of Excellence

Delius: A Mass of Life Prelude, An Arabesque & Songs of Sunset (The Beecham Collection)



Sea Drift, A Dance Rhapsody No.2, A Song before Sunrise …
Including previously unissued recordings

The following bear witness to Beecham’s unique contribution to the promotion of Delius’s music: An Arabesk and *Songs of Sunset (1934 Leeds Festival, both with Roy Henderson & *Olga Haley) and some delicious Delius Songs with soprano Dora Labbette accompanied at the piano by Sir Thomas.

London Philharmonic Orchestra
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Sir Thomas Beecham, piano


Released in collaboration with the Sir Thomas Beecham Trust in support of the Scholarship Fund.

On This Recording

  1. A Mass of Life: A Mass of Life, Part II: Prelude
  2. An Arabesque
  3. Songs of Sunset: No. 1. A song of the setting sun! (Chorus)
  4. Songs of Sunset: No. 2. Cease smiling, Dear! a little while be sad (Mezzo-Soprano, Baritone)
  5. Songs of Sunset: No. 3. Pale amber sunlight fails (Chorus)
  6. Songs of Sunset: No. 4. Exceeding sorrow consumeth my sad heart! (Mezzo-Soprano)
  7. Songs of Sunset: No. 5. By the sad waters of separation (Baritone)
  8. Songs of Sunset: No. 6. See how the trees and osiers lithe (Mezzo-Soprano, Baritone, Chorus)
  9. Songs of Sunset: No. 7. I was not sorrowful, I could not weep (Baritone)
  10. Songs of Sunset: No. 8. They are not long, the weeping and the laughter (Mezzo-Soprano, Baritone, Chorus)
  11. Autumn
  12. Viol: Viol (The Violet)
  13. I-Brasil
  14. 7 Norwegian Songs: 7 Norwegian Songs: No. 4. Sweet Venevil
  15. 2 Songs: 2 Songs: No. 2. Le ciel est, par-dessus le toit
  16. Viol: Viol (The Violet)
  17. 7 Danish Songs: 7 Danish Songs: No. 5. Irmelin Rose
  18. 7 Norwegian Songs: No. 3. Evening Voices
  19. 7 Norwegian Songs: No. 1. Cradle Song
  20. 5 Songs from the Norwegian: 5 Songs from the Norwegian: No. 2. The Nightingale