Celebrating 25 Years of Excellence

Mendelssohn Organ Works Volume 1


Catalogue No: SOMMCD 050
Release Date: 2005-02-01
Number of Discs: 1
EAN/UPC: 748871305021
Artists: ,
Liner Notes

This is a very special edition in five volumes of researched, corrected and edited material by Professor Christian Martin Schmidt. Includes Prelude & Fugue in C minor Op.37 No.1, Fugues in D & E minor, and Sonata No.1 in F minor Op.65. Played on six romantic English organs.

Jennifer Bate – Organ

Of all five volumes, Jennifer Bate said: “It is a real priviledge and a life’s ambition for me to undertake this recording project, and my main aim has been to be faithful to Mendelssohn’s original scores, now encapsulated in the new edition”.

On This Recording

  1. 3 Preludes and Fugues: No. 1. Prelude in C Minor
  2. 3 Preludes and Fugues: No. 1. Fugue in C Minor, MWV W18
  3. Organ Sonata: I. Allegro moderato e serioso
  4. Organ Sonata: II. Adagio
  5. Organ Sonata: III. Andante
  6. Organ Sonata: IV. Allegro assai vivace
  7. Prelude: Prelude in D Minor
  8. Chorale Prelude: Chorale Prelude in E Minor, "Nimm von uns, Herr"
  9. Fugue: Fugue in E Minor
  10. Fugue: Fugue in D Major
  11. Fughetta: Fughetta in A Major
  12. Andante and Variations: Andante and Variations in D Major
  13. Studies: No. 1. Con moto maestoso in A Major
  14. Studies: No. 2. Andante tranquillo non lento in A Major
  15. Studies: No. 3. Chorale in A Major
  16. Studies: No. 4. Allegro maestoso in D Major
  17. Allegro assai: Allegro assai in C Major (fragment)
  18. Allegro assai: Allegro assai in C Major (completed by J. Bate)