Celebrating 25 Years of Excellence

Romantic Violin Sonatas


Catalogue No: SOMMCD 0628
Release Date: 2021-02-12
Number of Discs: 1
EAN/UPC: 748871062825
Artists: ,
Composers: , ,
Liner Notes

The Carlock-Combet Duo return to SOMM RECORDINGS with a trio of ravishing Romantic Violin Sonatas by Schubert, Robert Schumann and Grieg.

Formed in 2014, the Philadelphia-based Carlock-Combet Duo – Sandra Carlock (piano) and Guillaume Combet (violin) – has quickly established a reputation for “imaginative and intelligent programming performed with style, panache and polish” (MusicWeb International).

The 20-year-old Schubert’s genial and outward-looking Violin Sonata in A major (D574) explores the expressive range of the violin to the full and is, says Robert Matthew-Walker in his informative booklet notes, “a masterpiece of the late Classical era worthy to stand with the finest examples of Beethoven”.

The violinist Joseph Joachim considered Schumann’s Op.121 Violin Sonata in D minor to be “one of the finest compositions of our times in respect of its marvellous unity of feeling and thematic significance. It overflows with noble passion, almost harsh and bitter in expression, and the last movement reminds one of the sea with glorious waves of sound”.

Grieg’s Third Violin Sonata in C minor (Op.45) was his last completed chamber work. Beginning and ending with passionately dramatic statements, it frames a central, nobly lyrical theme memorably shared by both instruments.

The Carlock-Combet Duo’s debut SOMM release, Violin Sonatas by Franck, Poulenc and Saint-Saëns (SOMMCD 0169), was praised by Musical Opinion as “an engrossing programme” with “performances of fine musical insight”, and was a MusicWeb International Recording of the Year.

Of Sandra Carlock’s solo recital of Piano Music by Edward MacDowell (SOMMCD 043), Gramophone said “it would be hard to imagine a more glowing or ardent champion”, while MusicWeb International declared it “a thoroughly recommendable disc in which everything sounds just right”.

On This Recording

  1. Sonata No. 2 in D minor, Op. 121 - I Ziemlich langsam - lebhaft
  2. Sonata No. 2 in D minor, Op. 121 - II Sehr lebhaft
  3. Sonata No. 2 in D minor, Op. 121 - III Leise, einfach
  4. Sonata No. 2 in D minor, Op. 121 - IV Bewegt
  5. Schubert
  6. Sonata in A major, D574 - I Allegretto moderato
  7. Sonata in A major, D574 - II Scherzo
  8. Sonata in A major, D574 - III Andantino
  9. Sonata in A major, D574 - IV Allegro vivace
  10. Grieg
  11. Sonata No. 3 in C minor, Op. 45 - I Allegro molto ed appassionato
  12. Sonata No. 3 in C minor, Op. 45 - II Allegretto espressivo alla Romanza
  13. Sonata No. 3 in C minor, Op. 45 - III Allegro animato


“From the outset, listeners will enjoy violinist Guillaume Combet’s luxurious, old-fashioned sound and the rich acoustic… the closing [Schumann Sonata Op. 121] movement, ‘Bewegt’, maintains energy and momentum throughout… The [Schumann] Scherzo is a teasing, elusive delight, its sensual Trio a lovely contrast. This is Schubert played most charmingly. …again, it is the fascinating final movement [of the Grieg Sonata] which is most enjoyable; a magical, turbulent, folk-inspired journey which the duo tackles with passion and energy.” — Natasha Loges, BBC Music Magazine (Full Review) “It’s not easy to make one’s mark in works which are such firm favourites in the romantic repertoire for violin and piano. However, violinist Guillaume Combet and pianist Sandra Carlock, a Duo resident in the United States, succeed in impressing us with constant insights from beginning to end. … Original and effective. In the Schubert Sonata D574, their colour palette is generous and rich. This mixture of ardour and lightness is particularly evident in the final Allegro vivace. Their interpretation is without sleight of hand and remains perfectly faithful to the music, especially the nuances. … Perfect technique, fidelity to the music, impeccable articulation both in the violin as well as the piano. Although frequently recorded, these pieces immerse us in a totally new atmosphere.” —Laure Dautriche, Classica ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️