Celebrating 25 Years of Excellence

Serge Koussevitzky Conducts the London Philharmonic Orchestra – Live


Label: ,
Catalogue No: ARIADNE 5017-2
Release Date: 2022-08-19
Number of Discs: 2
EAN/UPC: 748871501720
Artists: , ,
Composers: ,
Period: ,
Liner Notes

2023 International Classical Music Awards Historical Album Nominee

SOMM Recordings announces a major new release: the first appearance on disc of live performances of Tchaikovsky’s Fifth and Sibelius’ Second Symphonies by the iconic conductor Serge Koussevitzky and the London Philharmonic Orchestra. This historic, two-CD set includes an exclusive, specially-commissioned documentary about Koussevitzky’s Boston Symphony Orchestra tenure and his LPO guest appearances, featuring interviews with four key players from both orchestras by Jon Tolansky.

Tolansky’s revealing hour-long documentary includes wide-ranging musical excerpts and contributions from former BSO players Harry Ellis Dickson (violin), Everett ‘Vic’ Firth (timpani) and Harry Shapiro (sub-principal horn), and erstwhile LPO sub-principal horn Patrick Strevens.The symphonies are heard in performances Koussevitzky conducted with the LPO in London’s Royal Albert Hall in 1950. Both have been expertly restored by Lani Spahr. (See an excerpt here or on Gramophone.co.uk)

Noted authority on historical recordings Rob Cowan provides detailed booklet notes on the “individual, flexible, flammable, emotionally candid and utterly spontaneous” Koussevitzky’s stewardship of both orchestras. He describes the Tchaikovsky as “especially unique [in] its unsparing volatility…. The explosive climaxes leave the audience stunned”. Of the Sibelius, he says: “Koussevitzky’s London Second is as comprehensive an overview of the work as we have”.

Lani Spahr’s previous restorations for SOMM include the four-disc Elgar Remastered (SOMMCD 261-4) featuring recordings from the composer’s own collection, hailed by Audiophilia as “a fascinating achievement which will have you wishing for more”. George Szell: The Forgotten Recordings (ARIADNE 5011- 2) was a Gramophone Editor’s Choice and awarded a Diapason d’Or as “a major discovery”.

Jon Tolansky is the founder of the Music Performance Research Centre (now Music Preserved) and a widely admired producer of audio documentaries on classical musicians. For Spahr’s restorations on Beecham Conducts Sibelius (ARIADNE 5013), he produced a 30-minute audio documentary. MusicWeb International declared it “an unmissable disc [that] walks straight into a position of eminence in the catalogue”.

On This Recording

    CD 1

    Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5 in E Minor, Op. 64

  1. I. Andante - Allegro con anima
  2. II. Andante cantabile con alcuna licenza
  3. III. Valse. Allegro moderato
  4. IV. Finale. Andante maestoso - Allegro vivace
  5. Serge Koussevitzky: A Memoir

  6. Serge Koussevitzky, A Memoir, Pt. 1: La damnation de Faust, H 111 - Symphony No. 5 in E Minor, Op. 64, TH 29 - Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche, Op. 28, TrV 171 - Romeo and Juliet, TH 42 - Faust Symphony, S. 108 (Excerpts)
  7. CD 2

  8. Serge Koussevitzky, A Memoir, Pt. 2: Tapiola, Op. 112 - La Mer, L. 109 - Symphony No. 3 in E-Flat Major, Op. 55 "Eroica" - Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 43 - El Salón México - Symphony No. 4 in F Minor, Op. 36, TH 27 - Symphony No. 5 in E Minor, Op. 64, TH 29 (Excerpts)
  9. Serge Koussevitzky, A Memoir, Pt. 3: Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 43 - Khovanshchina - Symphony No. 5 in E Minor, Op. 64, TH 29 (Excerpts)
  10. Sibelius: Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 43

  11. I. Allegretto
  12. II. Tempo andante, ma rubato
  13. III. Vivacissimo
  14. IV. Finale. Allegro moderato