Celebrating 25 Years of Excellence

Handel at Home


Catalogue No: SOMMCD 055
Release Date: 2006-02-01
Number of Discs: 1
EAN/UPC: 748871305526
Artists: ,
Composers: , , ,
Liner Notes

“Handel at Home” is SOMM’s second new release in its Handel series with the London Handel Players (see SOMMCD 044). What lies behind this delicious confection of Handel Arias adapted for flute, strings and harpsichord, is Flautist Rachel Brown’s idea of putting together and re-arranging some highlights from Handel’s opera or oratorio performances.

London Handel Players
Rachel Brown – Flute
Adrian Butterfield, Oliver Webber – Violins
Peter Collyer – Viola
Katherine Sharman – Cello
Laurence Cummings – Harpsichord

The London Handel Players have selected their favourites from Alcina, Solomon, and Semele, some of these arranged by John Walsh (Handel’s publisher) but re-arranged for strings, or where appropriate, for flute and strings, by Rachel Brown. Handel’s Flute Concerto in G minor is a most welcome addition to the repertoire.

“The London Handel players’ consummate musicianship is consistently delightful: sparkling violin-playing and superb continuo contributions are just as impressive as Brown’s poetic flute solos”. Gramophone

“This review could be reduced to just three words: ‘Buy this recording'”. British Flute Society

On This Recording

  1. Oboe Concerto: I. Grave
  2. Oboe Concerto: II. Allegro
  3. Oboe Concerto: III. Sarabande: Largo
  4. Oboe Concerto: IV. Allegro
  5. Alcina: Overture
  6. Alcina: Act II: Verdi Prati
  7. Alcina: Musette
  8. Alcina: Act III: Un momento di contento
  9. Alcina: Act I: Tornami a vagheggiar
  10. Solomon: Solomon, HWV 67: Part I: Overture (arr. J. Walsh for harpsichord)
  11. Solomon: Part I: What tho' I trace
  12. Solomon: Part II: Beneath the vine
  13. Solomon: Part III: Will the sun forget to streak
  14. Semele: Act III: Myself I shall adore
  15. Semele: Act II: O sleep, why dost thou leave me?
  16. Semele: Gavotte
  17. Semele: Act III: No, no, I'll take no less